Morning Ritual

One of my sweet baby boys (my guess is Carter) has taken to using the bathtub during the night for his solid waste.  It is not a nice surprise (I guess it isn’t a surprise if I now expect it each morning) when I wake up and walk into the bathroom each morning to check out their progress and clean up. 

I really do need to visit the Litter Kwitter website and see what other people’s experiences have been with this and ideas to solve it. 

A coworkers of mine suggested filling the bottom of the tub with water, but crazy me is convinced he’s somehow going to drown or hurt himself.  I know it is just a few inches of water, but I think it is possible…  any other (safer) ideas?

Duke on chair & Carter on the rug

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lindy baird on July 14, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    I think water in the tub is a good idea. You’re teaching them to hover over a bowl of water to use the bathroom anyway……But if you’re still worried maybe try several strips of double sided tape in the tub, or several strips of duct tape from the ledge to the wall so he can’t even get in???

    Reply

    • Posted by Madelyn on July 14, 2011 at 4:37 pm

      I would try water in the tub before tape. Carter EATS plastic, so the tape would only entice him to spend more time in the tub… and clog up his inners. My cats are weirdos!

      Reply

      • Posted by lindy baird on July 15, 2011 at 1:22 am

        Oh goodness. Guess I’m lucky the only thing my cat eats other than food is his fur, my hair, lint, string, or anything else like that he finds on the floor!

  2. Posted by Carolyn on July 14, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    What about purchasing a piece of chicken wire from the hardware store and placing it in the tub when you’re not using it? I’ve heard that sort of suggestion from a gardening expert when asked what to do about cats using their mulched garden for a litter box.

    Your co-worker friend

    Reply

    • Posted by Madelyn on July 15, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      Interesting idea, Carolyn. I am going to wait to see how Carter does with the next step, and if he is still having problems, we will visit Lowes and see what they have to offer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

