Big Step

Today, one week after moving the Litter Kwitter to the top of the toilet, we’re transitioning to the orange ring.  It will sit in the middle of the Litter Kwitter frame on top of the toilet. 

This step will be a combination of using litter and also, starting to use the actual toilet.  They will see their waste disappearing into the whole, as well as hearing it hit the toilet water. 

For those of you using or considering the Litter Kwitter for your cats, the 2 rings pictured are part of the add-on pack if you have multiple cats.  It was strongly advised not to skip these 2 extra steps if you have multiple cats in the household.

So we’ll see…  and I’ll report…  and hopefully in about 6 weeks, Duke and Carter will be potty trained to use any toilet in the house, and we’ll be completely litter free.

 

 

***UPDATE***

The rings are on!  And the bathtub is filled with water with about an inch of water to try to keep the cats out!   (((Fingers crossed)))

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Norwegiangirl85 on July 18, 2011 at 11:54 am

    If you do it in 6 weeks you are one of the few lucky ones 😉 Most people use 6 months to a year, more or less…Or they give up because they don’t understand why the cat is not trained faster…Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Madelyn on July 18, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Everything I heard said 8 weeks, and since we’re just about 2 weeks in, I went with 6 more weeks. They definitely understand what is going on and what I expect them to do. I just need to get C to stop pooping in the tub, and I think we’re all set. I’m still going to go through the steps, but I really do think we’re on the right track.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Norwegiangirl85 on July 19, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    Well, the LK people that sell it say 8 weeks or less, but if you read on the forum you will see that unfortunatly that is not the case for most people/cats. I have used 10 months to get rid of the LK, but then again I have 3 cats. I still don’t consider us finished trainig because I don’t trust them enough yet, but they are doing good. I think that alot of people give up when they realise it is going to take a lot longer then they imagine so I just wanted people to know this before starting this journey. I also thought it would be 8 weeks, but look at me now…Anyway, don’t want to discourage you…You may very well be one of the lucky ones…I hope you are 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

