Duke the Great

I always knew Duke was a genius.  He’s my little cat-man.  He’s sophisticated, smart, and vocal.  He knows what he wants and how to get it…  Duke also knows how to USE THE TOILET ALL BY HIMSELF!!!

I was in the guest bathroom working on the LK with Carter (after he had gone in the bathtub), and I came into my bedroom just in time to see Duke walking out of my bathroom.  No big deal, that’s where his food is, and he likes to drink out of the faucet.

Then I saw the toilet seat was up and he had used it!!!  How exciting!!!

But they say “a team is only as good as its weakest player”, and unfortunately for us, Carter is our weakling when it comes to potty training, and we’re not ready to celebrate an all-around potty training victory.  I don’t know why Carter is still using the bathtub, but I have to figure out a way to help him stop.

I’m thinking about getting a natural stain and odor remover specifically for cats like this:  http://www.ilovenaturesmiracle.com/catalog/prod_detail.php?id=13, except I’m worried if he stops using the bathtub that he will find somewhere else in the house to go…  and with new hardwood floors and new carpet (I had the whole condo redone in March), that is the last thing I want. 

If anyone with LK experience or general cat experience has any ideas for little C, please let me know.  I don’t want to hold Duke back, but we can’t progress with the rest of the process until Carter is ready.  I know it can take some cats years to learn, but they’re brothers… they do everything else together and at the same time.  Why not potty training?!?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lindy baird on July 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

    Isn’t Carter the bigger one of the 2? Maybe it’s just not comfortable for him to balance on the toilet??

    Reply

    • Posted by Madelyn on July 26, 2011 at 12:17 am

      Carter is bigger, but not even by 1/2 lb. They’re twins (littermates) and very similar in size.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

